Why is the Bible Prejudice Against Women?


Lucas Cranach the Elder (1472-1553): Adam and ...

Lucas Cranach the Elder (1472-1553): Adam and Eve. Beech wood, 1533. Bode-Museum, Berlin (Erworben 1830, Königliche Schlösser, Gemäldegalerie Kat. 567) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It was only in the last century that women finally won the right to vote along with some other equalities. Now many women today enjoy most of the same freedoms that men have had for years. But what if you are a Christian woman?

What does it say throughout the Bible about the woman’s role? How many denominations allow women to be clergy?  If they are clergy, they still aren’t equal to the men in the clergy.  And it is supported 100% in the Bible.

From the beginning a woman was only created because Adam was lonely and needed a mate. And instead of being created from dirt like man, she was created from one of his ribs. So its like saying she would not exist without man.  (Genesis 2:20-22)

When Adam and Eve ate the forbidden fruit of knowledge, why did Eve get the harshest of punishment.  Adam’s punishment was that his herbs would sprout thorns and he would get to rule over Eve. But Eve got pain in childbirth, pain in conception… and became a servant of sorts to Adam.  Not to mention the official punishment for Adam was for listening to his wife.  (Genesis 3:16-17)

Even in the ten commandments women are portrayed as being the property of their husband.  In Exodus 20:17 it says “Thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s house, thou shalt not covet thy neighbour’s wife, nor his manservant, nor his maidservant, nor his ox, nor his ass, nor any thing that is thy neighbour’s.” 

  Exodus 21:7-10 covers the rules of selling your daughter, her master making her marry him, and then her role if he wants more wives. 

Exodus 22:16-17  If a man sleeps with an unwed virgin, he must marry her.  But if her father refuses to give her to the man, then the man must pay the “pay money according to the dowry of virgins.

In Deuteronomy 22:28-29 it says that if a man rapes a virgin, he must marry her and also pay her father 50 shekels for humbling her. 

   All of Leviticus chapter 12 is based on the purification of a woman after she has given birth.  After a woman has given birth to a boy, she will be unclean for 7 days and must purify herself for 33 days.  If she gives birth to a girl, she is unclean for 14 days and needs 66 days of purification. So are girls really more unclean than boys, or is God still mad at Eve?

 According to Leviticus 19:20-22, if a man rapes his female slave… the woman gets punished and the man’s sins are forgiven.  Are you kidding me? Why was this ever okay?

Women are even worth less in terms of their monetary value.  Here’s a table of values as given by God in Leviticus 27:3-7.  $ = Shekels of silver

Ages 1 month – 5 years:  Male =  $5; Female = $3

Ages 5 years – 20 years:  Male = $20; Female = $10

Ages 20 years – 60 years:  Male = $50; Female = $30

Ages 60 and up:  Male = $15; Female = $10

1 Samuel 18:25-27 may just be one of the most disgusting things ever written.  Saul sells his daughter to David.  But he didn’t want money, noooooo, that would be too normal… he wanted 100 foreskins from Philistine men.  David gave him 200 foreskins. So Saul sold his own daughter for 200 bits of severed penises.

Besides the fact that in 1 Corinthians 11:3-9  it is made  clear that God over Christ, Christ is over man, and man is over woman.  It is also stated that women are not allowed to talk in church, in fact the idea of them speaking in church is shameful.       1 Corinthians 14:34-35.  Women are to remain silent, and if they have any questions they are to ask their husbands at home after church.

 Ephesians 5:22-24 “wives, submit yourselves unto your own husbands, as unto the Lord.  For the husband is the head of the wife, even as Christ is the head of the church: and he is the saviour of the body.  Therefore as the church is subject unto Christ, so let the wives be to their own husbands in every thing.”

1 Timothy chapter 2  It says that women are to learn in silence without subjection… they cannot teach nor “assert authority over the man”.  It also makes it clear that Adam was first, then Eve.  And the Garden of Eden thing,  with the forbidden fruit… well that was 100% Eve’s fault. 

So how is it possible for many Christian women to become teachers in a Sunday school let alone anywhere else?  How many Christian men are using these teachings to justify abuse? 

1 Kings 11:3 Collecting wives and sex slaves is a sign of status: He [Solomon] had seven hundred wives of royal birth and three hundred concubines, and his wives led him astray.

 If you believe that the Bible is a “holy” book and if you accept some of it, then it seems to me that you must accept all.  You don’t get to cherry pick. If one verse of Leviticus is valid then they are all valid. If you are telling me that  this or that in the Bible is a metaphor or allegory, how do you know this? How do you know what is supposed to be taken literally and what is not? If you are taught that Bible scholars whose life mission was to study the Bible have taught you, well then how do they know this? What was their source of information? Where did they study? How did they get or who gave them the information?

 

12 thoughts on “Why is the Bible Prejudice Against Women?

  1. Only the Holy Spirit can throw light on this subject. In the beginning Genesis 1:28 it states that God blessed men and women and gave THEM BOTH dominion over every living thing – clearly equal status for men and women was God’s original plan. As He is not bound by time and there is no evidence here or anywhere else in the Bible of being created first meaning superiority, in fact quite the opposite as God first created all the things He gave humans dominion over before He created them!!

    Judaic law was the basis of prejudice against women – not the 10 commandments of our loving Father who treasures all of His creation. But throughout the Bible God challenges this. In Joshua 17:4 He challenges the man-made law that stated only men inherited land by having told Moses (whom He spoke to face to face) to give equal shares of land to Zelophehad’s daughter’s. He does the same at the end of Job 42:13-15 God has the writer inform us that Job had 7 sons and 3 daughters. It would be customary for the culture to give the names of the sons and not the daughters, but God does the complete opposite to what we expect. It is starting to become obvious that God is not too keen on man’s unjust laws and He takes opportunities to challenge them.

    Books like Leviticus when read in the true context of a Creator God who wants to have a relationship with us rather than have us follow a set of rules and remain distant from Him do not contradict any of this. He is basically saying “you are a stubborn hearted people and if you want a set of rules to follow I can give you that, but life will be pretty grim. The alternative is believe in my Son who gave His life to save you all from your sins and as stated in John 14:15-23 obey My commands – as simplified by Jesus in Matt 22: 37-39 “Love the Lord your God with all your heart … and love your neighbour as yourself.” Again no prejudice here.

    Deborah was appointed as a judge in Israel (and we are also told she was a prophetess) 2 more areas God challenges. Throughout the Gospels Jesus shows no partiality or prejudice. He rebukes the Pharisees (male church leaders) for “refusing to obey God’s command so that you can follow your own teaching.” Matt 15:3. Paul’s letters to the various churches are often used to support prejudice against women, but when we remember that Paul was formerly a very zealous Pharisee – he, like any other person could not fail to be influenced by the culture in which he was raised and trained. He occasionally acknowledges stating his own opinion, making it clear that he is aware that certain parts of his opinion may not be quite in line with God’s opinion. This is to Paul’s credit that he recognises the potential for error in this – he is clearly a man of integrity and humility. As we often acknowledge actions speak louder than words – and Paul mentions working alongside numerous women in positions of leadership and clearly anointed for their roles by God! Just an example from Romans 16:1 where Paul recommends Phoebe – a deaconess to the church at Rome – many more examples. Again our loving God who states through Paul in Galatians 3:28 “In Christ there is no difference between Jew and Greek, slave and free person, male and female.” We are “in Christ” here on earth if we believe in Him. So it seems to me God has settled the issue quite clearly.

    • . It has been awhile since I have been on here. I have read it all, and found this very interesting. Although, I may have to reread to fully digest it. Anyhow, thank you for your insight.

  2. You’re right, Tracy, we do have differences on our Biblical perspectives. I’m okay with that and hope you are, too. If I could say only “one” thing, as I’m sure you know, God’s word instructs men to love their wives as Christ loved the Church and laid his life down for it. That actually puts women in a pretty powerful position. I know I love my wife very much, and would do almost anything for her. I will not say more. I like your writing and just wanted to see what was going on. Can we say “awkward”? What a time for a Christian man to drop in. lol! Next time maybe I should knock before I open the door?

    • justacowboyforchrist, I am very okay with different perspectives. I believe whole heartedly that most people do not choose what they believe on a whim. Everyone has a story with experiences that have lead them to where they are and I really do not want to offend or attack anyone’s belief’s. Especially since I have been criticised harshly by a family member for giving my honest opinions recently. And you do not know me but I am being very truthful when I say that if I ever said anything disrespectful to deserve the criticism, it was not intentional.
      And the person I had the difference of opinion with on this matter, used to be someone close that we could talk openly about anything with. And now has become very religious and seems to anger more easily. Claims to be calmer but I see the opposite and claims not to be religious just believes in the Bible and God/Jesus/Holy Spirit. And I know not all Christians are like that, in fact most good ones are more tolerant. So I’ve been very concerned and it has lead me to revisit my conflicts with the Bible itself.
      I also believe you when you say you love your wife and are very good to her. My husband and I have been together almost 20 years and we have had some really hard times. Horrible fights and many times, didn’t know if we would make it. But we both had similar ideas about what marriage should be and have worked very hard to change our ways of dealing with our issues. Still not perfect but I know he loves me as much as I love him.
      However, in the wrong hands, the Bible has been used to hurt people even without taking verses out of context.
      Sorry if I went on too much. I just want people to know my intentions are to inform anyone who may not be. That’s why I’m trying to take stuff from the Bible directly and bring up the questions I’ve always had.

      • Yes. There is no perfect world on planet earth and we are all only human. I think God’s Word shows the “design” of how it is “supposed” to work, but we humans sure are good at mucking things up, are we not?

  3. I put not sure for the poll, but I think i’m in the land of confusion.

    Cause I can relate to weak atheism, agnosticism, skepticism, and agnostic theist. I’ve even considered deism.

    U know what that settles it….I am God. thats what I am.

  4. I’ve briefly heard of her so maybe I will do some searching. Funny thing I’ve actually heard about her from the show Supernatural she was a powerful angel on the evil side? But I’d be interested to know the truth. If she was a rebel that’s why she may be seen as evil. As humans we have a way of doing that when we don’t agree.

  5. Sorry Tracy I’m on borrowed Internet haha!
    I shared your post on my tumblr titled dose God have a wife and I believe he dose. Why keep her a secret I believe is connected to why he chose Eve to fall first? Adam is strong by way of his body Eve is strong by way of her spirit God knew when the time came Adam would fall under the pressure Eves wrath will set us free. I also have a theory on why she came from within and it’s not to be his slave! Adam would be nothing without Eve she spreads his seed!

    • PS. Thanks, feel free to share any post. I am trying to not post too much on my personal facebook but on my Tracys Post facebook page.I have over 300 “friends”. some are aquaintences and some are business type contacts usually in the entertainment industry so they are cool but I dont know how all of them are about this topic and I dont want to offend any of them.

  6. I recently did some research on this topic my question was dose God have a wife? I found the Jewish God did indeed have a wife who was written out of the bible Asheriah. Although my bible is important to me I’m well aware that man rewrote it to suite his own selfish desire. If my God needs my attention he will expose me himself. Until those moments happen its all about the great book of Revelations as we are here.
    Awesome post Tracy! As usual you ask great questions!

Leave a Reply

